Van Cliburn International Piano Competition Winners Concert

The victory of  American pianist Van Cliburn in the first Tchaikovsky International Competition in Moscow in the year 1958, at the height of the Cold War, inspired a group of music teachers and citizens of Fort Worth, Texas to establish the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition.  The first edition of the competition, which is celebrated every 4 years, was in the year 1962.  Van Cliburn’s reputation rapidly attracted  young pianists from all around the world,  turning this competition into one of the most successful worldwide.

In the year 1993 Sinfonía offered the project of celebrating a concert with the winners of the renowned competition to  don José León Asensio, President of Grupo León Jimenes, who were then celebrating their 90th  anniversary.  Since then, every four years, all the enthusiasm of the prestigious group goes to the preparation of the gala presenting the winners of the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition.

Winners Gala of the Van Cliburn International Piano Competiton, sponsored by Grupo León Jimenes and Fundación Eduardo León Jimenes:


Octubre 28, 2015
Vadym Kholodenko Gold Medal
Sean Chen Crystal Award

June 10, 2010

Haochen Zhang Gold Medal
Nobuyuki Tsujii Gold Medal
Yeol Eum Son Silver Medal

May 10, 2006

Alexander Kobrin Gold Medal
Joyce Yang Silver Medal
Sa Chen Crystal Prize

May 8 and 9, 2002

Stanislav Iuodenitch Gold Medal
Olga Kern Gold Medal
Maxim Philippov Silver Medal
Antonio Pompa-Baldi Silver Medal

April 29, 1998

Jon Nakamatsu Gold Medal
Yakov Kasman Silver Medal
Aviram Reichert Bronze Medal

December 15, 1993

Simone Pedroni Gold Medal
Valery Kuleshov Silver Medal
Christopher Taylor Bronze Medal


Also have come to Santo Domingo as soloists for the Santo Domingo Music Festival and for concerts with the National Symphony Orchestra: Christopher O’Reilly, José Feghali, Katia Skanavi, Antonio Pompa-Baldi and other winners that have repeated their performances in our country.